Saturday, October 31, 2015 to Saturday, November 28, 2015

    Opening
    • Saturday, October 31, 2015 to Sunday, November 1, 2015

    Owning With the Gaze 

    Exposition organisée par Cheryl L’Hirondelle 

    Millie Chen, Leah Decter, Stephen Foster, Ayumi Goto, Dion Kaszas, Suzanne Morrissette, Lisa Myers

    31 octobre au 28 novembre 2015

    Vernissage : samedi 31 octobre 2015 18 h à 22 h à la Galerie 101, avec les tatouages en direct de Dion Kaszas 

    ET

    Vendredi 30 octobre, une performance d'Ayumi Goto, « in sonorous shadow of Nishiyuu: reverberations ». Vers midi, Ayumi va courir à partir de Chelsea, au Québec, et s'attend de terminer sa course pour présenter une activité au Parlement entre 15 h et 16 h. Plus de détails :eepurl.com/bDvuev

     

    Cette exposition collective d’arts médiatiques organisée par Cheryl L’Hirondelle, artiste crie et métisse, se veut un dialogue basé sur un choix d’œuvres créées par sept artistes autochtones et non autochtones afin d’illustrer notre cohabitation, le choix de nos actions et nos manières de documenter l’espace-temps. Cette démarche nous montre comment nous revendiquons tous des territoires, qu’ils soient physiques, esthétiques, conceptuels ou virtuels. 

     

    Galerie 101 remercie le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario qui appuie la présentation d’Owning With the Gaze (Posséder du regard) par le biais d’une subvention du Bureau des arts autochtones, ainsi que la Ville d’Ottawa, le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario (une agence du gouvernement de l'Ontario) et le Conseil des arts du Canada. Galerie 101 remercie le Festival Asinabka, ses membres, bénévoles, partenaires et toutes ses relations.

Owning With the Gaze

    Saturday, October 31, 2015 to Saturday, November 28, 2015

    Opening
    • Saturday, October 31, 2015 to Sunday, November 1, 2015

    Curated by Cheryl L'Hirondelle

    Millie Chen, Leah Decter, Stephen Foster, Ayumi Goto, Dion Kaszas, Suzanne Morrissette, Lisa Myers

    October 31 – November 28, 2015

    Opening: Saturday, October 31 2015, 6-10pm at Gallery 101, with live tattooing by Dion Kaszas

    AND

    Friday October 30th, a performance by Ayumi Goto, "in sonorous shadow of Nishiyuu: reverberations". Beginning at around 12 noon in Chelsea, QC, Ayumi will run and expect to finish her run and stage an activity on Parliament Hill between 3 and 4 pm. More details: eepurl.com/bDvuev

    This media art + group exhibition curated by Cree/Métis artist Cheryl L'Hirondelle is meant to be a dialogue between selected work by seven Indigenous and non-native artists to illustrate how we inhabit, make actions, document time-space, and in doing so, how we are all staking claim to territories whether physical, aesthetic, conceptual and/or virtual.

    Gallery 101 gratefully acknowledges an Aboriginal Curatorial Projects grant from the Ontario Arts Council for the presentation of Owning With the Gaze, the City of Ottawa, the Ontario Arts Council (an agency of the Government of Ontario) and the Canada Council for the Arts. Gallery 101 thanks the Asinabka Festival, our members, volunteers, partners, and all our relations.