The soft and the pliable will defeat the hard and the strong

    Saturday, March 4, 2017 to Thursday, April 13, 2017

    Opening
    • Saturday, March 4, 2017
    02:00 - 17:00

    La Galerie 101 a le plaisir de présenter :  

    The soft and the pliable will defeat the hard and the strong +

    (La douceur triomphe de la dureté et la faiblesse a raison de la force)

    Laura Taler

    4 mars au 13er avril 2017

    le samedi 4 mars, vernissage de 14 h à 17 h
    le samedi 11 mars, Marathon d’édition 2017 Art + Féminisme de Wikipédia, de 11 h à 16 h
    le samedi 1 avril, table ronde avec l'artiste, de 14 h à 16 h

    La volonté de combattre ne fait que traduire le désir de réaliser un changement. Parmi tant d’autres choses, le changement nécessite patience, répétition, temps, et finalement, une négociation avec perte. Le passé n’est jamais immobile comme le chante Mercedes Sosa dans La Añera : « Tira el caballo adelante y el alma tira pa’ atrá s. »  Quand vous tirez le cheval par en avant, l’âme (vous) retient par en arrière.

    Pendant toute sa carrière, Laura Taler a exploré les liens entre le mouvement, la mémoire et l’histoire par des moyens cinématographiques et chorégraphiques visant à traduire la capacité du corps à porter le poids du passé sans être opprimé par lui. Dans cette exposition, deux installations vidéo et une série de collages dépeignent une figure solitaire répétant des gestuelles associées à la pratique et à l’entraînement de différents styles de combat. Bill Coleman joue dans The Boxer, alors que Taler pratique des mouvements de Tai Chi dans Carry Tiger to the Mountain et Wave Hands Like Clouds. Tournées en 16 mm et en film Super 8, ces œuvres remettent en question la séparation entre le début et la fin. Elles suggèrent aussi que la connaissance émerge des gestes répétés par le corps. La lenteur, l’immobilité et la répétition (souvent méprisées dans les notions occidentales de progrès) deviennent plutôt des précurseurs de changement et des voies possibles de transformation.

    De toute évidence, il reste plus d’un combat à livrer. Mais il y a aussi plus d’une manière de combattre.

     

    Carry Tiger to the Mountain et Brush Dust Against the Wind ont été produites avec Maria Angerman, Dagie Brundet, Heather McCrimmon et Dagmar Morath, avec l’aide d’Allison Burns, Maura Doyle, Anyse Ducharme, Elena Ducoure, Julia Martin, Kelsey McGregor et plusieurs autres. Laura Taler remercie sincèrement le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario et la Ville d’Ottawa pour leur soutien financier.​
     
    The Boxer est une adaptation de la performance scénique Heartland du danseur et chorégraphe Bill Coleman. L’enregistrement de The Boxer  faisait partie de la version originale du documentaire HEARTLAND, coproduit avec Hammond Associates, avec la participation du Fonds canadien de production de cinéma et de télévision, Téléfilm Canada, le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, le Toronto Arts Council et Bravo!

    + Lao Tseu | tiré du Tao Te King

    Notes de fin

    Galerie 101 remercie la Ville d’Ottawa, le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario (une agence du gouvernement de l'Ontario) et le Conseil des arts du Canada. Galerie 101 remercie le Festival Asinabka, ses membres, bénévoles, partenaires et toutes ses relations.

The soft and the pliable will defeat the hard and the strong

    Saturday, March 4, 2017 to Thursday, April 13, 2017

    Opening
    • Saturday, March 4, 2017
    02:00 - 17:00

    Gallery 101 is pleased to present: 

    The soft and the pliable will defeat the hard and the strong

    Laura Taler

    March 4 - April 13, 2017 

    Saturday March 4, Opening, 2 - 5pm 
    Saturday March 11, Art + Feminism Edit-a-thon, 11am - 4pm
    Saturday April 1, Artist round table, 2 - 4pm 

    The desire to fight is really the desire to produce change.  Among many things, the production of change requires patience, repetition, time and, ultimately, a negotiation with loss.   The past is never still, or as Mercedes Sosa sings in La Añera, “Tira el caballo adelante y el alma tira pa’ atrás.”  When you pull the horse forward, the soul pulls (you) back.

    Throughout her career Laura Taler has explored the links between movement, memory, and history by using cinematic and choreographic devices to articulate how the body is able to carry the past without being oppressed by it. In this exhibition two video installations and series of collages depict a solitary figure moving through gestures related to the practice and training of different fighting styles.  Bill Coleman performs in The Boxer while Taler practices the movements of Tai Chi in Carry Tiger to the Mountain and Wave Hands Like Clouds.  Shot on 16mm and Super 8 film, these works each question the separation between beginning and ending while proposing that knowledge emerges through the repeated gestures of the body. The slow, the still, and the repetitive – often considered negatively in western notions of progress – become, instead, harbingers of change and openings for transformation.

    It is clear that there is more than one fight left. But there is also more than one way to fight.

     

    Carry Tiger to the Mountain and Brush Dust Against the Wind were produced with Maria Angerman, Dagie Brundet, Heather McCrimmon and Dagmar Morath, and with the assistance of Allison Burns, Maura Doyle, Anyse Ducharme, Elena Ducoure, Julia Martin, Kelsey McGregor and numerous other helpers. Laura Taler gratefully acknowledges the support of the Ontario Arts Council and the City of Ottawa.
     
    The Boxer is adapted from dancer/choreographer Bill Coleman’s live performance HeartlandThe footage of The Boxer was originally part of the documentary HEARTLAND, co-produced with Hammond Associates, with the participation of the Canadian Film and Television Production Fund, Telefilm Canada, the Ontario Arts Council, the Toronto Arts Council, and Bravo!

    + Lao Tzu  | from the Tao Te Ching

    End Notes

    Gallery 101 gratefully acknowledges the City of Ottawa, the Ontario Arts Council (an agency of the Government of Ontario) and the Canada Council for the Arts. Gallery 101 thanks the Asinabka Festival, our members, volunteers, partners, and all our relations.